RSS icon Bullet (black)
  • RB: DLC – 04/20/10 Violent Femmes, Coheed & Cambria, Souxie and Supergrass

    Posted on April 20th, 2010 Simon No comments

    Hippy New Year everyone!  I’ve missed a few weeks worth of updates, and rather than recap what’s been missed I’ll simply point to these posts here over at our good friend RockBandAide.  Have you been reading his excellent PAX-E coverage, or his daily RBN updates?

    New DLC Tracks available on 4/20/2010

    • Violent Femmes – “American Music”
    • Coheed and Cambria – “Guns of Summer”
    • Coheed and Cambria – “Here We Are Juggernaut”
    • Coheed and Cambria – “The Broken”
    • Siouxsie & The Banshees – “Peek-a-Boo”
    • Supergrass – “Sun Hits the Sky”

    Do you like American Music?  The Violent Femmes were one of the most popular alternative rock bands of the 80’s and 90’s, being discovered ‘busking‘ by Crissy Hynde and subsequently being invited to open for The Pretenders (coincidentally, another Rock Band DLC alumni).  They released 8 studio albums, several live performances, and 4 compilation albums during their existence, acheiving platinum status on many records.   Their music is an eclectic blend of folk-rock and punk-rock, and songs like “Blister in the Sun” and “Add it Up” from their debut album made them instant stars in the mainstream.   Violent Femmes have also created music in other genres, notably country and gospel music on their second and third albums respectively. Unfortunately as it happens with a lot of bands, years of internal turmoil over creative rights, song ownership and money caused the band to break up a handfull of times from the late 90’s until finally announcing the band’s breakup in late 2009.

    This week we are treated to the first (of many we hope) Femmes tracks, the catchy “American Music” from 1991’s “Why Do Birds Sing?“.   The song has a handful of drug references (appropriate for the date) so this probably won’t be a Lego-friendly track.   I think it’s probably assured that we have not seen the last of this artist in Rock Band.

    Also this week, another triple pack from Coheed & Cambria from their new album, a Souxie track, and the first Supergrass DLC (but still no “Alright”).   These tracks are available today in the Rock Band store.  Enjoy the music, and I’ll be back next week with more DLC news.

    Leave a reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.
Get Adobe Flash player