RSS icon Bullet (black)
  • RB DLC: 1/26/10 – Metal Track Pack Exclusives + B.Ö.C.

    Posted on January 22nd, 2010 Simon 6 comments

    Harmonix has doubtlessly been extremely busy surrounding the recent public beta of the Rock Band Network, and this week they are taking a ‘bye’ of sorts from the weekly DLC releases.  That’s not to say we aren’t getting any new tracks, in fact there are seven new tracks, but six of the tracks are in fact already available to purchasers of the “2009 Metal Track Pack” which we discussed earlier last year.   The final track is an additional song by the legendary prog-rock band “Blue Öyster Cult”.

    For what it’s worth, the letter O with an umlaut (ö) appears naturally in the German, Finnish, Hungarian, Turkish and Crimean alphabets, but in the case of Blue Öyster Cult the symbol represents a diaresis, which is a pronunciation of two adjacent vowels (O and Y).   Scores of other bands would later copy the use of umlauts in their band names, and many of them are even featured in Rock Band 2 (Motörhead, Mötley Crue and Spinäl Tap to name a few).

    • Blue Öyster Cult – “Godzilla”
    • Blue Öyster Cult – “Transmaniacon MC”
    • Hawkwind – “Master of the Universe”
    • I Mother Earth – “Levitate”
    • Motörhead – “Killed by Death ‘08”
    • Nazareth – “Hair of the Dog”
    • Rage Against the Machine – “Bulls on Parade”

    The standout hits are pretty obvious – “Bulls on Parade” by RATM was the first single from their legnedary Evil Empire cd.  Personally I have been waiting for this one FOREVER, it’s one of the band’s greatest songs. “Levitate” from the Edwin era of I Mother Earth (and also one of their earliest singles),  and also B.Ö.C.’s “Godzilla” features some challenging extended guitar solos and even some shouting in Japanese.

    Before you pick up Nazareth’s “Hair of the Dog” you should probably listen to the re-recorded version beforehand – the song has been updated, the drums, vocals, and even the trademark ‘Talk-Box’ guitar solo is not the same as the version you’ve heard before.  It DOES have lots and lots of cowbell.  Many of the changes are subtle and forgivable, but it was enough to turn me off of the track.   “Killed by Death ’08” is similarly re-recorded and also has notable changes, but if you enjoyed their re-recording of “Ace of Spades” this is actually from the same recording session.

    Next Week’s Prediction:   Les Claypool, H.I.M. and Smashing Pumpkins


    6 responses to “RB DLC: 1/26/10 – Metal Track Pack Exclusives + B.Ö.C.” RSS icon

    • Bulls On Parade, one of my favorite songs of the 90s. My college band (when I was on drums) used to cover People of the Sun and BOP, back to back. They were huge hits with our fan base.

      I can’t wait for Tuesday night to wail this song out on the drums!

    • Why are you predicting Les Claypool?

    • It’s Bulls On Parade day! Queuing up my downloads for play tonight. Anyone plan to be online? I’ll be on drums tonight.

    • @Robby Suavé: I wonder the same thing. Where did next weeks predictions come from? Though, I would be all over some classic Primus.

    • Thanks for commenting Robby. His european tour starts next week, he’s just re-released his last few albums on iTunes. Last week Les announced he is supporting Coachella in April. It would have made more sense to post that prediction closer to the show because there is an annual Coachella track pack (usually with Coheed & Cambria). Mostly my predictions are bands I desperately want to play in the game, but it should be obvious that I don’t have any secret sources – I would have predicted something accurately by now 🙂

    • Ah. I just thought maybe you heard something that I didn’t. I love Les Claypool and Primus.

    Leave a reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.
Get Adobe Flash player